Community Property

« Back to Glossary Index

State laws vary, but generally all property acquired during a marriage — excluding property one spouse receives from a will, inheritance, or gift — is considered community property, and each partner is entitled to one half. This includes debt accumulated. Nine states currently have community property laws: Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin. (Alaska adopted a community property system in 1998, but it is optional.)

« Back to Glossary Index

About the Author

Related Posts

No Related Post